Crowe Scholarship for Pre-Dissertation Research Award

The Crowe Pre-Dissertation Research Award reimburses research costs to support the development of a dissertation project. Awards can be up to an individual maximum of $1,500 for travel to field site, specialized training not available through UW, or unusual expenses essential to the student’s proposed dissertation project. The Scholarship Committee will give priority to proposals for pilot and pre-dissertation fieldwork that will enhance subsequent applications for external scholarships and grants (NSF Dissertation Improvement Grants, Fulbright, SSRC, etc.). Preference will be given to applications received from fourth or sixth semester applicants (i.e., for use in the summer of the second or third years). Applicants must be enrolled in the combined graduate program of Sociology/CES and have a CES faculty member as their official advisor. Only one award per student will be granted during a student’s career.

Applicants should submit a two-page (maximum) statement of purpose, methodology and timeline, expected contributions to the discipline, and should clearly demonstrate how the research activity will contribute to preparation of the dissertation proposal. If individuals have applied to other funding sources for the same or a similar proposed summer research activity, that source and application status should be clearly stated. In addition, the proposal should contain a one-page itemized budget of the estimated costs, a one-page vita, and a letter of support from the student’s primary advisory. The Community and Environmental Sociology Department Awards Committee will judge the intellectual merit of the application (or ask a CES faculty member other than the student’s advisor who is knowledgeable in the student’s subject area to judge the application). If the student receives outside funding for this research after the above application is submitted, the student must inform the Scholarship Committee and the CES award may be withdrawn or modified. Applications are due on February 1st.

Past Award Winners


Katrina Becker


Becky Schewe
Ozlem Altiok
John Zinda


Madeleine Fairbairn


Annabel Ipsen


Lee Scrivener


Todd Flournoy